rigotti cables ancona

Home / Artists / Dino d’Autorio

Dino D'Autorio

Dino D’Autorio (Penne, February 1, 1954) is an Italian bassist and arranger. His collaborations with many of the best known Italian artists place him among the most prominent bass players in Italy.
He began studying bass at a very young age at the Civic School of Music in Milan and subsequently attended the Harmony and Composition course with Maestro Filippo Daccò at the C.D.M. from Milan.
In 1977 he joined the Rebels, and with the group he recorded a single for Dischi Ricordi.
In 1979 he formed the Cast, with Walter Calloni, Kelvin Bullen, Mauro Paoluzzi, Michael Fraser, Naimy Hackett and Stefano Pulga and with them he recorded an album in which Hamish Stuart and Roger Ball, members of the Average White Band, appear as guests.
During his career he has collaborated with well-known artists for records and/or tours, including New Trolls (2 songs in the album America OK), Loredana Bertè, Riccardo Cocciante, Fabio Concato, Fabrizio De André, Mina, Franco Fanigliulo, Gianni Morandi, Patty Pravo, Amii Stewart, Renato Zero, Zucchero Fornaciari and made the arrangements of various albums for Amedeo Minghi, Enrico Ruggeri and Renato Zero.
He has also lent his collaboration for some theatrical shows and related albums, including “Grease” (1997).

He took part in various television programs for RAI and Mediaset as a bass player, including “Buona Domenica” (1995), “Viva Napoli” (1996/97/98/99), “30 ore per la vita” (1997/98/99), “I Sing” (2010/11/13).
He was voted best Italian bassist by the readers of “Guitar Club” for seven consecutive years (1985-92).
To the C.P.M. he has been teaching electric bass since 1996.

As a musician D’Autorio has collaborated for records and tours of numerous artists, including New Trolls, Loredana Bertè, Luigi Grechi, Mauro Pelosi, Garbo, Bernardo Lanzetti, Fabio Concato, Fiorella Mannoia, Mimmo Locasciulli, Fabrizio De André, Eros Ramazzotti, Toto Cutugno, Pupo (singer), Eduardo De Crescenzo, Mango (singer), Massimo Ranieri, Ornella Vanoni, Ivan Cattaneo, Mike Francis, Francesco Guccini, Banco del Mutuo Soccorso, Enzo Jannacci, Mina (singer), Franco Fanigliulo , Amedeo Minghi, Gianni Morandi, Gianna Nannini, Patty Pravo, Enrico Ruggeri, Amii Stewart, Syria, Roberto Vecchioni, Renato Zero, Zucchero Fornaciari.

He collaborated in the recording of albums related to theatrical shows such as “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” (Gabriele Salvatores) and “Grease” (for the 1997 edition) and in the theater with Tony Cucchiara for the musical “Caino e Abele” .
He edited the arrangements for the albums “Zero” (Renato Zero, 1987), “Serenata” (Amedeo Minghi, 1988), “La parole ai witnesses” and “Contacts” (both by Enrico Ruggeri, 1988 and 1989 respectively).
During his career he has made advertising jingles and started an educational collaboration with the monthly “Guitar Club”.